Have you seen it yet?

The story goes, about 55 years ago, that there was this Sci-Fi convention where readers of science fiction gathered to revel in the coming futuristic world of stories, featuring publishers and authors. At this particular convention, a fellow named Gene brought in his pilot episode for a new TV show that was to be a space bound drama, with recurring characters. It was too early for color film to be popular, so this hour long pilot, filmed in black and white, was shown to many groups at the convention as an option to guest speakers and open forums.

The buzz around the convention began among those who had seen this pilot, urging those who had not, to go see it. Soon, the most common question among the convention goers was: “Have you seen it yet?” The show became a huge hit, and Star Trek was born.

Well, tonight, I got to experience something that I can see the same question begin to reappear in conversations all over these United States. I have seen it. and I urge you to go see it as well. It may change your life. This “it” is the Christmas with the Chosen episode, shown as a Fathom event in limited release to select theaters. I’ve enjoyed both seasons of The Chosen, and the third season will begin filming in early 2022. This is a full episode of the Nativity, with characters introduced in earlier episodes. It follows an hour’s worth of Christmas carol videos with various Christian musicians. It also had some monologues about some of the more relevant names of God that pertain to the Nativity.

I’ll just say that I’m very glad that I always carry a handkerchief in my front right pocket.

Leave a comment